These Boots are Made for Walking (But the Clothes are Not)

Beware of all enterprises that require a new set of clothes – Henry David Thoreau

Most of you know, or have read about my 3 month lifestyle challenge.  It’s been over now for a month, and for the most part I’ve stuck to the new habits I formed January-April.  Mostly.  I’ve hit a plateau, so will need to reassess, but I’m still going to the gym, I’m running again outside (last week I ran my first non-stop 5K), and I’m *trying* to keep my food habits healthy.  Check out the Airdrie Lifestyle Challenge menu for the posts during the three months.

This post is not about working out; the challenges, the rewards, the sucky moments.

It’s about clothes.

I work out 4 times a week.  At least 3 times a week, I’m running.  It’s safe to say I’m sweating a lot.  Some people don’t like to admit they sweat, but I see my sweat as something to be proud of.  It’s all that fat crying and running away.  Unfortunately I have a hard time doing laundry.  I live in an apartment building that has 3 machines for at least 60 apartments, and it’s closed at a specific time each night.  I was able to do a couple loads of laundry once (on a sick day), but then someone snaked in before I was able to finish.  So I jump from friend to friend, mooching their laundry facilities.  I hate asking, but clothes are more expensive than pride.  That being said, I am not able to do my laundry as often as I’d like, and since I have less workout clothes than other clothes, things get ripe, so I’m off to buy new workout clothes today.

I went to Pennington’s website to acclimate myself to what the store offers.  (I hate shopping, so I pre-shop and go for the clothes I’ve already window shopped).  Their activewear is at best pathetic.  First of all, we’ve got weird flowery designs, and a cute little button-hole top.  WTF?  We’ve got sleeves that are flowers, and the body of the T one solid colour.  Can I just have a moisture wicking shirt that isn’t see through, and won’t constrict my movements?  Of the 20 options, there’s one that caught my eye.  It’s a tank, which is great for summer, and outdoor activities like running.  Then there’s this:

stupid_shirt

Nex, I checked out what Sport Chek has to offer for women’s workout apparel.  They’re going to have more options in that regard, because that’s their bag, but just look at they offer:

 

better_shirt

This is pretty standard style.  There’s no weird flair, it’s functional, lightweight, and it’s got some moisture stuff happening.

Why aren’t fat people getting some moisture wicking clothing?  This is something that grinds my gears.  The world is telling us that we need to lose weight, but what the deuce are we supposed to wear while we do it?  Can we not feel some pride in our workout gear?  I already feel like a bit of a weirdo when I run, because, well this:

Can I get some pride back with my cool, functional workout gear?  Is that too much to ask?  Is this just a Canadian problem?  I know that plus sized stores are much better in the States.  It’s a double edged sword though.  I have no other options, so I have to choose what they’re offering, which, to their statistics, or metrics, or whatever it’s called, they think their clothes are a hit.

My only consolation is that in a few months’ time, I’ll be too skinny for their ridiculous shirts, and can wear something for function, and not just because I don’t have a choice.  In the meantime, I’m the one with a weird flowery back paneled-shirt.

1 Comment

  1. Reblogged this on mrpurededication.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Kulture Shake Radio

    Listen to internet radio with Kulture Shake on BlogTalkRadio