Charity

That’s what I consider true generosity.  You give your all, and yet you always feel as if it costs you nothing. – Simone de Beauvoir

I’m taking a break from blogging about my weight loss journey (although I hope to have a really fun announcement next week) to talk about something else.

Charity.

Easy to give, hard to ask.

A lot of the runs I did last year had an optional fundraising component.  For most of them, I opted against fundraising because I didn’t want to keep coming back to the same well.  I said to myself that this year, the only thing I’d ask for money for was the Cancer Society’s Relay for Life.  I haven’t met anyone who isn’t affected by cancer, and I wanted that to be it.

But things change.

I am involved in 3 events that I would like to fundraise for.  Instead of staggering it, and sending mass emails/facebook statuses out to everyone I know, I thought I would explain each event here – why I’m involved, who it helps, and how you can help.  Please know this isn’t meant to be a heavy handed attempt at getting funds.  I’m terrible at fundraising, so if you want to help, thank you very much.  If you don’t, that’s absolutely cool.  We can’t do it all!

So without further ado:

Colour Me Red

This is an event put on by Carter’s Quest for a Cure.  Carter’s Quest was started by Jen Ruklic, a mom in Airdrie who has a son with hemophilia.  Hemophilia is something I don’t often think about, and when I do, it’s usually in relation to the Romanovs.  To know this illness is still prevalent today, and there still isn’t a cure, despite all our technological advances is shocking.  Jen has worked tirelessly to raise awareness and funds to support the Canadian Hemophilia Society.  This isn’t a faceless disease.  A lot of us have seen pictures of Carter, or met him in person.  He’s a normal little boy who wants to do normal things without worrying if that bump on the noggin, or scrape on the knee will cause severe injury.  Colour Me Red is a hair-dying event.  There are several of us who have donated our coif to the cause.  On April 12, we will gather at The Hair Lounge and dye our hair red.  If you’d like to donate to myself or any of the other participants, you can follow this link.  There’s also a lot of opportunity to get involved.  Like Carter’s Quest on Facebook to stay up-to-date, and get information on upcoming events.

Race for Kids

I wasn’t going to do this.  I didn’t think I was ready to do a timed race with obstacles.  This event, sponsored by Capital One benefits local Boys and Girls Club.  I love the Boys and Girls Club of Airdrie.  I love all the people involved, and what they do.  I got involved last year for AIRScares, and I saw firsthand the good work they do.  Building up the next generation is very important to me, and I jump at the chance to be involved with them.  You can still register to be a part of the race, but if running isn’t for you, and you’d like to pledge toward my goal, you can follow this link.  If you’d like to volunteer for the race, or for other events, give them an email or a call.  Check out their programs too!

Relay for Life

Last year, a group of us signed up under the team name Nose Creek Players on the Block.  We’re keeping the name and doing it again this year.  The relay for life is an amazing event.  It’s a 12-hour overnight team relay, all to raise money for the Canadian Cancer Society.  Here’s my pledge page if you’re interested in donating, or if you’d like to start your own team, or join one already in progress.  The memories you make will stay with you for a lifetime.

There’s obviously so many other events going on, so if you’d rather donate your time than your money, I encourage you to check out what’s going on in your area.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Kulture Shake Radio

    Listen to internet radio with Kulture Shake on BlogTalkRadio