The First Lunch

One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.  -Virginia Woolf

Yesterday, Michelle and I had our first appointment with our Simply for Life consultant.  What a rude awakening!  No carbs for supper, or the rest of the day.   When she said that, my mind (and probably my mouth was saying “but, but, but, but!”).  I’ll have to start weighing my meat, and really paying attention to what goes in my mouth.

Those of you who know me, know I’m so scatterbrained I’ve misplaced almost an entire set of plates (and forks), and NOW I’m supposed to measure food!  This is going to be quite the adventure.  Maybe I’ll find my plates in the duration!

Over the holiday break, I had made some pizza cups.  This was going to be a fast and easy meal between day job and teaching PACK.  They’ll be staying in my freezer a bit longer.  It’s got two strikes against it:  the tea biscuit crust, which is really, really good, and the chunks of pepperoni I put in it to use my pepperoni and clean out my freezer.

Sigh.

I also have to start having breakfast.  I go in cycles with that meal.  I can get all gung-ho and get a smoothie going (yogurt, water, banana, and some other sort of fruit), but once I’m out of the ingredients, I’m back to my no food till lunch schedule.  I’m a pre-planner type of person.  As long as I don’t have to wake up any earlier, I’m on board.  I’d probably be on board even if I do have to wake up earlier, because I made this commitment, but I’d really rather not.  I love my sleep.

Last night, I realized none of my plans for lunch worked.  So, I ran to Sobeys after class.  Word to the wise, Sobeys is pretty picked over by that point.  Go early!  I knew I had some quinoa, and since it was my lunch meal, I knew I could have some carb.  I grabbed some red and yellow peppers to compliment it.  I still have almost my entire Christmas turkey in the freezer, so I’m good for meat for a couple of weeks.

My friend had given me a recipe for a simple, quick dressing to go with quinoa, so I added it to the mix.  I’ve run this by Simply for Life, and it’s good to go if anyone wants to make it themselves, go nuts!

I’m going to give the recipe for the full amount, but I halved it to spread it over two days.

1 cup quinoa, cooked.  (I put 1 tsp of chicken stock in the water to give it some flavouring)

1 red bell pepper, diced.

1 yellow bell pepper, diced.

~ 2 Tbsp white onion, diced.

1 cup turkey

Dressing

3 Tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp olive oil

Pepper and salt (optional).  I use ground pepper and a half a dash of salt.

Wait till the quinoa is cooled before you add the dressing. It’s meant to be a cold dish.

I hope you like it.  The best thing about this, is there’s so many variations available!  I’ve added cucumber before; you could add zucchini…pretty much anything you’d like!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Kulture Shake Radio

    Listen to internet radio with Kulture Shake on BlogTalkRadio