In Defense of LOST

I’m real, you’re real, everything that happened to you is real. – Christian Shepherd

Breaking Bad ended last night.  I never watched it, but based on Facebook and Twitter, it was a good show which apparently ended better than LOST.   From what I can tell, a lot of people who were upset with LOST’s ending never watched the whole series.  They gave up in season 2/3, and then tuned in for the finale.  Now, I’m not saying I have all the answers to LOST.  Goodness, I make it a habit to watch the series somewhat regularly, and every time I watch, I learn something new. 

LOST isn’t perfect.  I’ve ranted about Kate’s character.  I had some responses asking why I would watch a show if I hated a character so much.  It was actually the first time I had run into someone who liked her characters.  I didn’t like Dawson either, and the damn creek was named after him.  (For the record, Jen was my favourite character.)  When you love something, a person, a thing, a show, you love it despite its imperfections.  So no, I wasn’t a fan of Kate, nor was I a fan of Ana-Lucia, or Libby’s death, or Paulo and Nikki.  I wanted more closure on the Walt thing, but LOST was at the time, and still is, a favourite show of mine.  Plus, I love and constantly weep at the ending. 

This interpretation might not be the correct interpretation, but I feel it’s fairly accurate.   The Island was NOT purgatory.  They weren’t dead the entire time.  The sixth season, instead of showing a flashback, or the of-named flash-sideways, showed their version of the afterlife. 

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

Back when Jacob was outside the scene of John Locke’s fall and subsequent paralysis, he was reading a book.  The camera made good and sure we saw what book he was reading.  It seemed important, so I googled it. 

tumblr_la67ivZptq1qdrfz0

Everything That Rises Must Converge is a collection of short stories.  It derives its name from the work of Pierre Teilhard de Chardin.  He once said, “Remain true to yourself but move ever upward toward greater consciousness and greater love! At the summit you will find yourselves united with all those who, from every direction have made the same ascent.  For everything that rises must converge.” When I read that quote, I felt as if most of the missing pieces fell into place.  All the character development of the past 6 seasons made sense.  I can even grudgingly admit that Kate’s development evolved.  It’s why Ana-Lucia wasn’t “ready” to go to the church. 

So yes, everyone died. 

EVENTUALLY. 

Boone died in the first season, Shannon, the second.  Jack didn’t die till the last episode.  Even those who survived the Island died (post-show), because everyone eventually dies.  LOST’s afterlife operates outside of time, which I assume every afterlife does.  If you look carefully (and even not that carefully), in the room where Jack is speaking with Christian, there are many different religious iconographies, I’m sure, to represent everybody’s religious leanings. 

Christian explains, and I paraphrase, that what happened on that island, was the biggest event to happen to everyone.  So, when their time came, their soul(?), whatever you’d like to label it, went back through the motions, working to bring each other together, one last time, forever. They converged.   And when I look at it like that, suddenly, the ending of LOST isn’t so ambiguous. 

So that’s just my opinion, and Damon Lindelof might laugh at its description, but as I see it, it’s beautifully done. 

Also, if you haven’t done so, there is a short, “New Man in Charge” which describes some of Hurley’s escapades as being the Big Boss of the Island.  Walt’s in it too.  It may help.  It’s on the season 6 DVD set.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Kulture Shake Radio

    Listen to internet radio with Kulture Shake on BlogTalkRadio