The Throne

“I am your king.”
“Well I didn’t vote for you.”
“You don’t vote for kings.”
“Well how’d you become king then?”
“The Lady of the Lake, her arm clad in the purest shimmering samite held aloft Excalibur from the bosom of the water, signifying by divine providence that I, Arthur, was to carry Excalibur. THAT is why I am your king.”
“Listen, strange women lyin’ in ponds distributin’ swords is no basis for a system of government. Supreme executive power derives from a mandate from the masses, not from some farcical aquatic ceremony. “
-Monty Python and the Search for the Holy Grail
 

OK, here’s what I don’t get.  I sort of get the fascination with actors/musicians.  Well, sort of meaning it’s crazy psycho, and they’re only as good as we let them be, but what is the big deal about people who’s only accomplishment is being born to the right people?

Also, it surprises me that it’s the Americans who seem to be more obsessed than Canadians.  Canadians, I get, because we’re part of the Commonwealth, but America?  Dudes, fourscore and many years ago you fought a HUGE war, a war that you’re celebrating Monday to rid yourself from the Monarchy.  Does anyone else see the irony?

For those of you who say I’m bashing the Americans, I say shut up.  I’m bashing a culture who’s obsession on these people is much too much.  87% of the print media had the royal wedding as their cover story.  Does anyone else see the problem?  People are dying, economies are crashing, and all we care about is two people getting married?  And did we think about how much that wedding cost taxpayers?

I think it’s time we smarten up.

 

4,095/62,000 or 6%

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Kulture Shake Radio

    Listen to internet radio with Kulture Shake on BlogTalkRadio