The Challenge

“Writing is easy:  All you do is sit staring at a blank sheet of paper until drops of blood form on your forehead.”
-Gene Fowler
 

Last November, I completed 50,000 words in 30 days.  The novel that came out of that time is so close to being finished I could pee my pants.  But I won’t, because I’m civilized, and civilized people use toilets.  Or bushes.

This July, I am embarking on my own personal challenge.  62,000 words in 31 days.  That’s 2,000 words a day.  Same deal as November – quantity over quality.  Editing can be done in August.  And if the last novel is any indication, boy howdy, will there be edits!

Here’s what I see being a potential problem.  (Aside from procrastination).  My creative process flows a LOT better when I hand write, so the time I take transposing pen to ‘puter is time that I’m not making words.  Well, new words.  Better that than staring in front of a screen and waiting.

For those of you who will keep track, make bets, say I can’t do it, say I can, whatever, with every blog post (which won’t be every day, unless I’m REALLY procrastinating), will have the word count.  Typed word count to be precise.

2115/62,000 or 3%.

 

5 Comments

  1. Let’s be honest here. We mostly use bushes.

    In relation to your goal, I say good luck. I think you can do it. Unless, of course, you don’t do it. Then you would mess the whole thing up for everybody…

    So, I guess now I’m depending on you to do it or I look like a fool.

    You don’t want to make a complete stranger look like a fool. Do you?

    This probably isn’t very good motivation, is it?

    • I’ll steer clear of your bushes if you steer clear of mine. I think that’s a health code thing, or some such nonsense.

      Up till now, I’ve only suspected I hold the cards for everyone in my hand. You’ve just verified that for me. Craziness shall ensue. You’ve been warned.

      I think stranger motivation is stronger than known. You know, you let down your friends or make them look like a fool; they have to still love you, or at least like you a bit, because they’re your friends. You can hate me however much you want, and I’ll still sleep nice and fine tonight. Unless it’s hot, then I don’t sleep so well, but you don’t control the weather!

      Actually, you seem pretty cool. We could be friends. But it won’t stop me from writing 62,000 words in 31 days. You’re not the boss of me.

  2. […] The Challenge (anotherpieceofpie.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] me. Fridge Magnet, or Life Mantra? For those of you who were wondering about my recent writing challenge, I’m not going to say I failed, but I didn’t get my word count.  In my defense, it […]

  4. […] The Challenge (anotherpieceofpie.wordpress.com) […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Kulture Shake Radio

    Listen to internet radio with Kulture Shake on BlogTalkRadio