The Feeling

“There’s a feeling I get when I look to the west.”
-Led Zeppelin
 

Despite my procrastination last night, I was hugely successful in editing a chapter.  Take that distractions.  I went to bed last night feeling sated yet hungry.  Sated because I completed a goal and it was good.  Hungry because I just want to do more.

For a few hours last night, I breathed life into a few characters, and rode along with them even as I myself took them down roads into relationships, intrigue and danger.

When I was in grade 10, I read Who Has Seen the Wind for English Class.

I hated it.

Yet I’m drawn to a term I remember being used repeatedly.  The Feeling.  Brian got The Feeling when he saw early morning dew on a blade of grass.  Not just that, but that’s the moment I remember the most clearly.  I also remember the side plot of the man who didn’t love the woman as much after she fixed her eyesight.  He loved her “faults” as part of her, but I digress.

I’ve come to appreciate The Feeling as something honest, unashamed and palpable. And last night I basked in that Feeling as I drifted off to sleep, the measured lives of my characters swirling around in my head.

1 Comment

  1. Any day where you can get some editing done is a good day 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Kulture Shake Radio

    Listen to internet radio with Kulture Shake on BlogTalkRadio