Number Seven

“I got food poisoning today.  But I don’t know when I’m going to use it.”
-Steven Wright
 

A couple of times a year, we would have BBQs in the hangar.  This was fun for several reasons.

  • Reason 1: I got to goof off downstairs, “setting up” for most of the morning and some of the afternoon.
  • Reason 2: Hanging out with everyone in the office that I don’t normally get to.
  • Reason 3: Free food.
One of the first BBQs I attended, one of the new accountants was given the tongs.  We always put the BBQ just outside the hangar door, and technically the rules are that no one is allowed airside unless they have a gate pass, or are within a specific distance to someone with a gate pass.  Ron (Director of Maintenance) told the accountant to keep an eye out for the Red Trucks, and if he sees one, to hightail it in the hangar.  I believe it was for this reason he turned the BBQ up too high, resulting in the outside of the burgers being cooked and the inside remaining raw.  There was a good number of people who got sick that day because of those not-quite-BBQed burgers.
Plus there was that desperate run to the Second Cup in Kensington.
Oh, and I finally figured out who the accountant reminded me of (and not in a good way).
Here are a few of the funniest moments about this guy
  • Saying, “it’s my birthday so I can have a bag of chips in the morning whenever I want.”
  • Complaining about brown people, to which I couldn’t help but respond, “aren’t you brown?”
  • Falling asleep (and snoring) with his head on the desk, then getting hired on full time the next day.
  • His gross fish that he would make for lunch at least once or twice a week.  (Not quite funny, mostly nasty.)
Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Kulture Shake Radio

    Listen to internet radio with Kulture Shake on BlogTalkRadio