What I Did on My Summer Vacation

“How like a winter hath my absence been. From thee, the pleasure of the fleeting year! What freezings have I felt, what dark days seen, What old December’s bareness everywhere!”
-Shakespeare
 
Aside from a grumpy post and a general rant, I’ve been off-blog.  So what have I been doing?  Well, I wrote a screenplay, broke a few hearts, shot a man in Reno just to watch him die AND watched a couple of movies.

Writing

April was ScriptFrenzy.  Much like NaNoWriMo, but instead of 50,000 words in 30 days, I wrote 100 pages of script in 30 days.  I think ScriptFrenzy was easier.  That being said, I’ve only had one (trusted, lovely, encouraging) person read it because this writer is terrified to find out what people think of her stuff.  But as job has become one steaming pile of crap after another, I’ve realized: perhaps writing is the escape I’m looking for.  And if I want to escape, perhaps people may need to READ my stuff.  So I’m going to the wizard, and I’m going to ask him for some courage.

Breaking Hearts

You thought I was kidding, didn’t you?

I am.

Except for yesterday, at Tim Hortons, I repaid a nice gesture with a nice gesture and ending up giving some guy my phone number.  He’s since called twice, left a message once and now I’m terrified to check the message.

Random Nevada Homicide

Isn’t Johnny Cash great?

Ass-Kicking Couch Sitting

I really haven’t done THAT much couch sitting.  What with this new exercise regime and all:

What?  You want me to WALK??  Ok, but I don’t see how this is going to … wait a minute, my pants are loose.  And I only have one chin?  Dang, people should know about this walking thing.

But I’ve watched Water for Elephants (which coincidentally started as a NaNoWriMo book…), The Lincoln Lawyer (otherwise known as the only movie where one does not see Matthew McConaughey’s abs [unless you do, and I’m just the 0.00001% of the straight female population who does not find him that attractive]).

Future Projects

I’ve got a screenplay in the works, a quarter of a novel rattling around my desk and an idea for such a scandalous novel no one will ever know it was me who wrote it.  Course, now you’re all going to be looking for the next scandalous novel and just assume I wrote it.  You know you’re going to be giving money to the wrong person, right?  You might as well send me a cheque now.

Here’s to many more moons of theatre companies, performances, writing, breaking hearts, Reno shootings and movie watching.

Oh yah, I also watched this video of two guys speaking Jersey Shore dialogue in Oliver Wilde-ese.  Brilliant.

And I voted.

3 Comments

  1. And your commercial should be debuting!!

    • Oh yah!! I forgot!! Ah I could care less if it never shows. I’ve already been paid!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. […] What I Did on My Summer Vacation (anotherpieceofpie.wordpress.com) […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Kulture Shake Radio

    Listen to internet radio with Kulture Shake on BlogTalkRadio