Ode to Clementines

“You keep using that word.  I do not think it means what you think it means.” – The Princess Bride

I love clementines.  If it weren’t for clementines, I would never eat a single orange.  Or an orange in a loving relationship.  A few years ago, I came upon a wonderful thing.  100% clementine juice.  Sold.  Drank.  Thousands of extended taste buds.  I sounded like Helen Keller.  I haven’t had a clementine since.

Today, I bought clementines.  You know those moments when you see something you’ve been looking for, and the choir that follows you around sings one harmonious but swelling chord?  I had that moment today in Costco.

I wonder how many clementines I’d have to eat in one day to have all the taste buds extend.  Stay tuned.

“An ode is typically a lyrical verse written in praise of, or dedicated to someone or something which captures the poet’s interest or serves as an inspiration for the ode.”

And here is my ode:

Oh my darling/Oh my darling/Oh my darling clementine/I thought thou lost and gone forever/Oh my darling clementine

Moved to Eh Bee/rhymes with tee vee/but you were not to be found/I looked forever, ceasing never/even searched under ground

Oh my darling/Oh my darling/Oh my darling clementine/I thought thou lost and gone forever/Oh my darling clementine

Visited Oh En/to see the fam dam/And by golly, there you were/But then a week past and you were gone fast/the rest of you had grown fur

Oh my darling/Oh my darling/Oh my darling clementine/I thought thou lost and gone forever/Oh my darling clementine

But then I found you/Oh whoop ee dee do/At the giant Costco store/I picked you up and held you close/I could never love you more

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Kulture Shake Radio

    Listen to internet radio with Kulture Shake on BlogTalkRadio